Tragedy

As far as I know, I have no connection to anyone on Egypt Air Flight MS804.  Details will be known in the next few weeks as those whose work unravels these mysteries do their jobs.  My connections (or lack of) aren’t important right now.

What IS important is that when I heard the news, I stopped what I was doing.  I took a few  moments out of my day to think of the lives forever changed.  There are so many things out of my control in this world.  But quite often I turn off the TV and take control of how I spend my time.  And today I stopped to grieve.

Every loss is significant, even though I doubt many of us have the luxury to write posts reflecting on each one.  But today, I thought of Madeleine L’Engle’s book “A Ring of Endless Light” and decided to share a poem she wrote about loss.

 

“The earth will never be the same again

Rock, water, tree, iron, share this grief

As distant stars participate in the pain.

A candle snuffed, a falling star or leaf,

A dolphin death, O this particular loss

A Heaven-mourned; for if no angel cried

If this small one was tossed away as dross,

The very galaxies would have lied.

How shall we sing our love’s song now

In this strange land where all are born to die?

Each tree and leaf and star show how

The universe is part of this one cry,

Every life is noted and is cherished,

and nothing loved is ever lost or perished.”

Leave a Reply

